First day of school in my classroom

so, as I have been going through my college courses and observing in public school classrooms and doing my internship, I have come to a particular conclusion. 

On the first day of school in my classroom it won’t be like any other class that my students will have taken. I don’t care if they are 6th grade or 12th grade. My first day will not consist of just introductions or reading of the syllabus. That will be the students responsibility over time. On my first day there are a few videos I am going to show depending on the subject and they will get their semester project and their year long project. I am going to jump right into curriculum giving me the max amount of time to teach them what they need to know. 

I want to hear from others on what they think of this concept. 

Leave a Reply

